Sign In

‚ÄčEligibility for completing the Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning

There are three VCAL certificates offered at St. Monica's College: Foundation, Intermediate and Senior. Students will be enrolled in a certificate that meets their individual academic abilities, but may be assessed at any level.

To be eligible for the award of any of the VCAL certificates, the student must satisfactorily complete studies in each of the five VCAL strands: 

  • Literacy Skills
  • Numeracy Skills
  • Work Related Skills
  • Industry Specific Skills (completed through VET or TAFE studies)
  • Personal Development Skills      

In addition to this, students may also receive VCAL credit for VCE studies which they complete.

Like the VCE, there are attendance requirements in VCAL and it is possible for students to fail the certificate due to poor attendance. It is also compulsory for all students to attend activites such as excursions and camps.

All course requirements must be completed in order to receive a VCAL certificate. If any requirements are not met, a statement of results indicating the completed strands will be issued by the VCAA.

The information sheet The VCAL: An Introduction provided by the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority provides additional information about the structure and rationale of VCAL.